Old Stomping Grounds

September 20, 2008

Today I had the opportunity to visit Jersey City. I lived there for 12 years until 2005, when I had to give up my huge one bedroom and move back to NY. WOW. Exited the PATH train and found some big changes. One street was turned into a pedestrian walk. The liquor store has become a chain drug store. A third entrance for Grove Street is completed, with condo building and Starbucks on the corner.

Walking up Newark Avenue, some of my favorite places are gone. The cheap housewares store is vacant. Someone’s trying to convert the building to condominiums. Several new bars and coffee houses have popped up. Downtown JC is trying to become the new Hoboken it seems.

I miss JC. The town felt like a small town. People talked to their neighbors. Store owners knew their customers. The buses were reliable, taxis were cheap, and the commute was heavenly. If I ever get the opportunity I would move back in a heartbeat. 

Anyone miss a place you’ve lived in??

Leave a Reply

