The Loom Shall Rise Again

September 22, 2009

Looming (or should it be weaving?) is very meditative. Lining up the beads, passing the thread through, lining up, passing through…

It forces one to focus on the task. It’s difficult to carry on a conversation when sliding beads into position.  Television becomes background noise, phone is ignored. Focus focus focus.  I love it.

The one thing I don’t do is graph my designs. Most weavers graph their designs before they start. It determines how much of each color you need, and to see the design before committing thread and beads. I do sketch my designs, but don’t graph the entire idea. Another trick is to print my inspiration photo in black & white.  Then I mark the colors to the section and run with it. Yes, it’s not the standard procedure. But it’s a heck of a lot of fun to see where the muse takes me.

I’ll post more photos of the project upon completion.

Beginning of my latest work

Beginning of my latest work

Leave a Reply

