A Thousand Words

May 31, 2010

And an “A” for the class. One of the classes I took this semester was a photography class. The title: Photography Without a Darkroom (taught by Karen Marshall). The idea is that one can take good or even great photos without fancy equipment or spending time in a darkroom.  A series of exercises  pushes students to see our environment differently.  After taking 40 photos of people I knew, people I didn’t know, objects in motion, a 4 block radius of home, work, or school, a series (which can be read in several ways), I definitely see things in more than a literal sense.

Here are some of the better photos. And of course I will use some as bead project inspiration:

Something so small creates such a strong feeling.

The class helped me learn to use my camera in ways I never considered before. If you ever have a chance to take a beginner photography class, go for it.

Leave a Reply

