Hurricane “Party” is over

August 28, 2011

It’s 6:12am in Queens NY. When I went to bed last night, the rain increased, and the wind started to pick up. NYC was under a tornado watch, but that has ended for now.  My family is still sleeping. My alarm clock went off at 5:30–my usual time so I figured I’d take a look around.

Rain’s still coming down. We now have some small branches in the street. I live across the street from a large park, so that was expected. The wind is the same as last night. I cracked my bedroom window to let some air in before things get crazy.

The report is that Irene is in Egg Harbor NJ now, and will probably reach New York City proper in a few hours.  NJ got slammed, lots of trees down.  Several thousand people have already lost power, and the center of the storm hasn’t even hit yet.  Fortunately we still have electricity.

Unfortunately, the center of the storm is predicted to make landfall again near JFK Airport, not far from my neck of the woods. Even though we’re inland, it’s gonna get nastier. Fortunately people are heeding instructions and warnings.

The biggest concern remains flooding and power outages. Hopefully we’ll keep our protective bubble and not lose it. There is something to be said for having a neighborhood with a church on every corner.

Another theme running on the tv and radio – generator ads, insurance company ad, and “Go Bag” public service announcements.

Thanks to all the folks reading out there. I will try to post a photo or two later today once it’s lighter out.

 

One Response to “Hurricane “Party” is over”

  1. bebezuckermeadon Says:

    Hope you stay safe and well. Take care!


Leave a comment