Not At Home at the Depot – 2

October 12, 2012

Last time our heroines (my mother & I)  were left high and dry with a non-functioning refrigerator. Most of you read my tale last time, and heard about it on a special edition of my radio program, The Eclectic Experience. (If you haven’t heard it, click the title.)

It has been 1 week. Not only did I blog, broadcast, Tweet, FBook. I also filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

That is what finally got their attention.

I receive an email and phone calls from Home Depot’s corporate “Excecutive Escalation Team” and the local store. I returned both calls. The manager of the local store wasn’t free, so I left a message.

However, I did speak with the corporate representative. She advised me that the local store could have contacted Magic Chef then and there. She offered to have the store send a loaner fridge, and advised me to file a warranty claim for reimbursement of spoiled food. I told her that what was really troubling was the dismissive attitude of the salesperson.

The rep called me today to make sure the technician arrived(as she promised).

The techician told my mom that the part that collects the run off was broken. The new part has to be ordered, and it’s going to be another 2-3 days.

Tomorrow I am ordering a mini-fridge from Sears. After visiting our local store and looking at the options; we decided instead of spending another paycheck, we are purchasing a mini fridge for me, one for my brother (which will stay in the basement) and Mom will keep the fridge for her use once it’s fixed.

We are nearing the end of this saga, but it still comes back to: If you help the customer up front, this can all be avoided.

Thank you all for your support, especially my buddies at NDB Media,

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

