Not At Home at The Depot – part 3

October 19, 2012

This piece of plastic has been the reason I nearly imploded from stress.

The bane of my existence for the past 2 weeks.

See that huge crack? That’s why the water leaked.  It was replaced today.

Mom and I were headed to Sears tomorrow to buy a new one. My brother and I were able to move the mini fridge to the basement yesterday. (That one is MINE, all MINE. Well, if there is another crisis I share of course.) And I had just purchased a bag of ice from the local overpriced corner market. (But they are friendly.)

How it got fixed is the funny part of this tale. Wednesday I called my contact at Home Depot. (The “Escalation Team” representative.) At that point, the service company stated they didn’t have the part.

The manufacturer told HD that the part was there.

I was exhausted, and fed up with all of them. Mom’s yelling at me when I go home that she can’t get groceries. Work was already rough this week…

I was done.

I told HD to send me a new fridge, and I didn’t want to hear anything else.

The HD rep got on the horn with MC(Magic Chef) and tried to speak with the service company. The service company refused to talk to her, since they are contracted by the manufacturer.

The response was MC would guarantee the part arrival by Thursday, then the technician would contact us immediately.

Thursday came, Thursday went.

HD followed up. I let them know there was no communication.

This morning, 10:15am MC calls.

“Miss Brinson, we apologize for the serious inconvenience. We called the service company, and they are closed today. We are sending a new service company, they will be there Monday with the part.”

Me: “Yeah, okay.”

11:00 am another call

“Miss Brinson, my name is “Raymond” from **** Cooling. We will be  at your home Monday between 12-5. May I confirm your address?”

Damn, these folks are a step up from the other service center.

I told Mom. She had two questions:

“Are they white?”

“Mom I can’t tell over the phone.”

“Why didn’t  MC send them in the first place?”

“Mom, that’s a darn good question.”

So we went back to fixing up the spot in the basement for my new mini fridge. Mom wanted to have some lunch, so I went back to working (okay futzing around on Fbook).

12:23pm another call

“Miss Brinson? This is ****Appliances. If you’re home I can come now with the part.”

****Appliances is the original repair company. The one that didn’t get the part, and then were closed when MC called this morning.

This is my first WTF moment in a long time. This could be a Woody Allen movie.

“Okay, but are you sure? MC called this morning and said they were sending someone else.”

Silence.

“Um, I don’t know about that miss. May I come by and do the repair?”

“Yeah, okay.”

1:30pm the part is replaced.

Food is now in the main fridge (what didn’t spoil).  As I write this, I am on the phone with HD putting in a food loss claim…

And the model we purchased does NOT have food loss under the warranty.

Hmm..guess the repair tech noticed the Sears box in the back yard.

There had to be a catch somewhere.

HD is sending me a $100 gift card.  Guess that’s next year’s plants, or maybe another bead organizer.

Tomorrow I’m grocery shopping!

Leave a Reply

