Inspiration Station – February 2013

February 17, 2013

Baby it’s cold outside. It’s just February, but I’m already wishing for April.  The nice thing is the cold forces me to stay in and practice my peyote stitch and market my work.

The not so nice: all the plants are dormant, so no wonderful colors for a few more months.

Peyote stitch, the mainstay of beading, was my nemisis for a long time. Every attempt at lining up beads, then keeping them even fell flat.  The rows never held up. The effort resembled a twisted cord of beads and thread. Of course I tried to salvage and create a new twisted lariat out of the hysterical error. No dice. Finally, I decided to walk away from peyote and focus on any other method, paticularly bead embrodiery.

At BeadFest last year, I found the solution. The woman who invented this is a saint.

Quick Start Peyote guide

Quick Start Peyote guide

Quick Start Peyote cards re-introduced the elusive stitch. They are so easy to use anyone can learn the basic stitch.  (Click the name to visit Deb’s website for more information.) The packet includes a group of cards for different size beads, and a very clear instruction guide to follow.

It took a little practice, but now I am confident in my basic peyote. 😀

Here’s a peek at a new bracelet in the making:

Peyote stitch, here I come.

Peyote stitch, here I come.

In other news, I’ve been very busy on the radio, filling in for the illustrious Roger Noriega at NDB Media. Visit the website and check out the listings. There’s something for everyone, especially if you’re a sports fanatic.

Before  hitting the hot cocoa, here’s a special treat:

From now until February 28, use the code “FBVAL” at my store, and receive  10% off any order of $20+

Stay safe, stay warm, and stay loved!

Leave a Reply

