Inspiration Station June 2013 Flowers & Guilty Pleasures

June 24, 2013

It’s summertime, and the livin’…

okay, it’s not that easy. 🙂

However, it is fun. Spent the better part of last week helping my mother get the yards in order. Yes I said ‘yards’, back and front. Mom is a plant aficionado as far back as I remember. She can take a cutting (sample) of a plant, stick it in water and POOF…plant sprouts up. Every spring we look forward to shopping at the nursery (and they love her too), picking out flowers for the beds, and plotting what goes where.

My duty is the “muscle” woman. I pull weeds. This time I knew what to pull without holding up a sample of a butt ugly plant and asking “Mom do you want this?”

“No mon! That a weed. Chuck it.”  Then my task is to pull a few pounds worth from the section I’m in.

This time I grabbed the nettles, dandelions, the “fake corn” as I call it, and wild grass.  If you want a good cardio workout, grab a hoe and some gloves then hit the yard. At the end of the day, we sit on the stoop and admire the fruit of our labor. The neighbors make a point to stop and check out the garden. It’s nice to be the envy of the block.   Here are a few of our beauties:

1011386_4952218323725_1220605203_n 1017596_4952215483654_1926713320_n

Lilies are the top photo, Begonias the bottom.

For my July radio show, if you are a landscape artist/garden guru, contact me! I’d love to discuss the do’s and don’ts of home gardening.

In the meantime, this Wednesday June 26 is Soapbox Wednesday! I’m dishing on some recent news and listing my summer guilty pleasures.

Click HERE for the link.

Leave a Reply

