Put On A Hoodie & Pull Up Your Pants

July 16, 2013

Trayvon Martin

George Zimmerman

The four most discussed words in the United States at the moment.  When the verdict came in, I was at a friend’s wedding. Lots of love, happiness and good food. On the way home, a friend checked her Facebook account and found the news.  For me, it put a damper on an otherwise beautiful day.  In the hours, and now days that followed, tensions have run high. People are falling into three categories:

1. Travesty of Justice/No Justice No Peace/Racism is alive

These folks are mad as heck. Stating the obvious but not making suggestions for solutions.

2. Justice was served/Trayvon deserved it/Black people kill each other more than we do, why aren’t they complaining or marching about that.

I’ma get to this in a second, hang tight.

3. I can’t take this negativity any longer –people please stop posting about this and move on.

Nope, we can’t move on just yet. Take a break from Facebook and Twitter for a while.

Numbers 1 and 2 bother me the most. For the Number 1 campers – look up the links I post; walk through your neighborhoods, find/create organizations to prevent violence.  Say hello to your neighbors. Have a cookout, pass a plate of food over the fence,–hell SMILE and say good morning at least. A little kindness is a great start.

Let me horsewhip the Number 2 campers next:

You claim we don’t talk about or combat black on black crime. Some of the nastier of your ilk suggest that we prefer to use racism as a crutch to avoid responsibility.  Guess what? We DO complain about black on black crime. We DO work to take illegal guns of  the streets. We DO prefer to have safe places for children to play, old folks to walk, and be able to sit on our stoops and chat with the neighbors.  Since you haven’t noticed what has been reported, let me pass on a few examples:

Boeing pledges $5million to Chicago antiviolence campaign

Brooklyn grandmothers rally against violence

Florida’s own Crime Prevention in the Black Community

You see we live with it, so we are dealing with it. Should it get more press? Yes

Do we all follow the “don’t snitch” bullshit? No Because that’s what it is —bullshit. If your child/friend/spouse/parent were shot, wouldn’t you want someone who knows something to come forward? Don’t say ‘no’ ’cause you know that’s not true.  And if you’re thinking “don’t snitch because we don’t trust the po-lice” well not all police officers are inept or corrupt. Vigilante justice is not allowed in this country, so we have to use the people OUR TAX MONEY pays for to keep the peace.  Yes, we pay them, they work for us. Considering how quickly they captured D’aja Robinson’s killer, it seems someone got tired of the “don’t snitch” foolishness.

What gets my goat the most is reading comments suggesting that Trayvon wouldn’t have been approached by Zimmerman in the first place if he was “dressed properly”. The author of this statement said that if you “dress with respect you’ll be treated that way” (I’m paraphrasing).  Trayvon was walking home from a corner store.  Not a drug den, not a whorehouse—a CANDY STORE. Dear sir, how should one dress to buy Skittles? A suit and tie?

Let me digress for a moment about the “dress properly” statement (which was removed by the author–I just searched and it’s gone). Many moons ago, my godmother took me to a Christian day retreat. It was in a very nice neighborhood. I asked, since it was on a Saturday, if  I could wear jeans and a blouse.

She said “Most certainly not. You will wear church clothes.”  When we arrived at the retreat (it was a group from her church and me), the other participants wore –you guessed it, jeans and tops. Sensing my confusion (and a touch of aggravation), one of the other ladies had me walk with her around the church grounds.

“Look at these photos. What do you see?”

“Kids in their uniforms.”

“What else? Look real close.”

“How come there aren’t any black kids?”

“Ah,” she said. “This is ****. “(I’m not divulging the town) We have to dress up just to come here. Otherwise what do you think they would say?”

I realized then why my godmother insisted on “church attire”.  The only way to prevent white people from dismissing you as ignorant was to overdress. The whole “first impression” thing.  The sad part is 30 years later, people are suggesting that we don’t “dress properly” even when we do, so we are all ho’s and thugs.

However, there is a point. Young men need to PULL UP YOUR PANTS. No one, and I mean NO ONE wants to see your underwear.  The rap “artists” that run around like that don’t live in the ‘hood anymore. They have homes with security cameras. They only want your money.  Young women need to PULL DOWN YOUR SHIRTS. If it’s too small, buy a larger size. No one wants to see a muffin top or that extra boob. If you can see your buttcheek, then the shorts are too short. And do you ladies realize these rappers diss you on the regular? They’ve called us bitches and ho’s for years, and you all just keep buying the songs. Life is not a music video.

And for the love of Pete, can we stop using the N word???? That’s the number one reason other races don’t respect us any more. If we call each other the second dirtiest word in the language, why would they not want to?

Finally, I’ve got to rant on this:

Jay-Z Disrespects Harry Belafonte  (click for the full article)

Mr. Belafonte criticized Jay-Z and Beyoncé a year ago about their lack of community service. Beyoncé’s publicist responded fairly quickly. Jay-Z didn’t say anything until he put lyrics in his latest album.

Sometimes I feel survivor’s guilt
I gave some money to this guy, he got high as hεll
Now I’m part of the problem far as I could tell
Did I do it for him or do it for myself
Can’t lie to myself
I love my n—–s more than my own blood
I die for my n—-s and I love my cub, hope that’s not f—-d up
I got a problem with the handouts, I took the man route
I’ll give an opportunity though, that’s the plan now
No guilt in giving clear a n—– conscience out
No guilt in receiving, every thing within reason
Can’t see it taking food out my little monster’s mouth
That’ll drive me gaga
Run up in your momma’s house, two nickels, one dime
Manslaughter charges, the lawyer, knocked it down
I’m just trying to find common ground
‘fore Mr. Belafonte come and chop a n—– down
Mr. Day O, major fail
Respect these youngins boy, it’s my time now
Hublot homie, two door homie
You don’t know all the shít I do for the homies

Doesn’t matter what point he’s trying to make. Jay-Z was completely out of line.  If it weren’t for real artists such as Harry Belafonte, there would be no Jay-Z. Period. If you disagree with an elder, fine. There is a right way and a wrong way to disagree. Jay-Z took the wrong way. If someone called my grandfather or father a “boy” they wouldn’t have a tooth left in their mouth after the slap I’d give them.  Jay-Z and his ilk gave us nothing but “bitches & ho’s”,  the N word, “stop snitchin'” and video vixens with fake hair.

Whew! Wow, that was  a rant and a half.  Next week it’s back to the fun stuff.

One Response to “Put On A Hoodie & Pull Up Your Pants”

  1. John Says:

    It just amazes me overall in general how a chance encounter and a look or comment or not even that much can escalate and in a flash people’s lives are changed forever or end up dead. People need to be more responsible for their actions. Most of the time it’s just not worth it…………..but by then, it’s often too late.


Leave a Reply

