Inspiration Station – October 2013: Fast Cars and Reefer

October 29, 2013

Boo! – Okay, got that over with. I do like Halloween. It’s the one holiday everyone has the chance to be someone else for fun, Unlike the corporate holiday party, or big family shingdig, where you have to hide your flaws to please the in-laws or boss.

I hate corporate parties. Glad I’m not part of that anymore.

The other reason I like Halloween is it reminds me that my birthday is coming up. ūüėÄ I don’t need presents anymore, but appreciate that friends & family remember it. The saddest feeling is one of loneliness. Being forgotten is a pain I don’t think I could handle.

Moving on to things I’ve come to love and hate during the summer/fall…

1. Top Gear on BBC America: I LOVE this show. Yes there is an American version (and Australian too), but there is nothing like Jeremy, James and Richard (Richard is FIIIIINE by the way) tooling around in expensive sports cars. Well, other than Jeremy, James and Richard struggling in old beat up cars. ¬†I’m torn between the Africa and the North Pole road trips. Both presented amazing vistas, and unusual challenges for the guys. Seeing Richard break down and cry during his sledding run to the North Pole (it’s freaking lonely out there) made me cry. James and Jeremy’s near slugfest outside their vehicle in the snow made me nervous, They went from friends to near enemies in ¬†a matter of days. ¬†This show was a highlight of my summer. Catch it on BBC America.

2. Tia & Tamera: ¬†These sisters are a hoot. ¬†Watching them both experience pregnancy, and their adventures as working mothers was a refreshing change from the typical “reality” show. ¬†They are more genuine than the family that starts with “K”. ¬†The show has moved to Bravo (the Style Channel is no more).

3. Iyanla Fix My Life: ¬†One of OWN’s true hit shows. ¬†Counselor Iyanla VanZant travels across the country to help couples/families experiencing issues. Troubles range from parental negligence to abusive spouses, to ¬†“reality” stars refusing to acknowledge true reality. ¬†Several episodes stand out, but the one that got my goat was HWOA (Housewife of Atlanta) Shiree’s lack of emotion. Her ex husband called her out on how she blocked his contact with his children. She just sat there. No anger, no sorrow, no nothin’. ¬†He made it clear that he felt he and their children were just “accessories” on her tv show. ¬†No response. Chick just didn’t care. ¬†It was a shake-my-head moment. ¬†What I appreciate about this show is no quick fix is promised. The participants have to work at change even after Miz Iyanla leaves.

So, what made my hackles rise this summer/fall?

1. Reefer at 7am. ¬†One of my neighbors smokes a joint on their front stoop before they leave for work. Not every day, maybe 3 out of 5 days/week. ¬†If your job is so bad that you need a joint before leaving the house, perhaps you should look for something else? Or take early retirement? Haven’t smelled that stuff since high school, and it still stinks. ¬†Other than that, they’re great neighbors.

2. Cutting the line at the bus stop: There is this one woman who saunters up the street, stands at the end of the line, ¬†then as the bus pulls up pushes her way to the door. ¬†Everyone’s giving her the “bitch are you crazy?” look. ¬†She doesn’t care. ¬†Haven’t seen her in a while, but I would not be surprised to hear someone pushed her out of the way.

3. Reefer at 7PM: Coming home, a different neighbor is outside with a halogen lamp, makeshift dominoes table and the gentlemen are—you guessed it—smoking reefer and playing dominoes. Cold as it has been, they are bundled up, lamp shining, playing dominoes.

4. The loss of a favorite show: The Bronson Pinchot Project. ¬†It was on the DIY Network for 2 seasons. There was some filming for a spinoff “Bronson Pinchot Saves America”, but alas it is not to be. Bronson Pinchot, goofy as he is, knows architecture. His method has madness, but the results were off the chain. He takes reviving classic homes seriously. ¬†No sanitized crown molding, or polyurathane flooring. He and his crew are salvage wizards. ¬†It was such a pleasant change from the ton of other remodeling shows, I can’t believe it won’t return. ¬†If you want to know what Bronson is up to, follow him on FaceBook (Bronson Pinchot Online)

5. Express bus follies: ¬†Since hurricane Sandy, I’ve been taking the express bus to/from work. There are a few things that get on my last nerve. First TAKE YOUR BAGS OFF THE SEAT. You paid $6 for ONE seat, not two. ¬†And stop rolling your eyes when someone asks you to move said bag.

Second, IF YOU CAN’T FIT, DON’T SIT. ¬†Hey, I’m not a tiny person, if I see the seat’s a little tight, I move on. I do my best not to squeeze in and cause discomfort for the person next to me. DO THE SAME.

Third, DON’T EAT DINNER ON THE BUS. It’s an EXPRESS, which means you’ll be home in less than an hour. Save your dinner until you get home. Remember, it’s still NYC Transit, which means the buses are not cleaned every day, which means critters may be hiding.

Whew! That’s all for now. ¬†If you are in the Elmont NY area, stop by MrsJax Shop & Sip Holiday Show. November 16 ¬†1-6PM I’d love to meet new and old customers. ¬†Follow me on Pinterest, Twitter and Facebook (Pond’s Edge Designs by Rosalind Brinson) This coming Friday, join me and Tanya ¬†on Raise Your Glass” on NDBMedia via Blogtalkradio.

Leave a Reply

