Inspiration Station – October 2014 #color trends

October 22, 2014

Holloween is next week. What?! I’m not ready.  I’m looking  for July weather. What happened?

Yes, I admit that denial has set in. It feels summer went too quickly. My hope is winter goes just as fast. To cheer the mood, let’s talk color! For those who follow Pantone’s selections, the 2015 Color hasn’t been named yet. However, if you follow home decor trends, a Color Trend for 2015 is available–for a hefty price. (Visit http://www.pantone.com) for details. To learn how event planners and other interior designers track the trends, check out this article.

Out of curiosity I peeked at Benjamin Moore’s color of the year 2015 – It’s Guilford Green.  BMoore’s color trend guide is a flipbook that’s user friendly. (Take a look here.) Anothther interior color on this trend is Meditarranean Blue. I used Benjamin  Moore’s Chocolate in my studio (as trim color), and I love the no-fume formula.

The one factor regarding Fall I can appreciate is color. The trees go out in a blaze of red, yellow, orange and brown. The reeds near my house transform from green and black spears to almost pastel brown and white:

From green to off-white. A drastic change as the weather turns.

From green to off-white. A drastic change as the weather turns.

Speaking of brown, I challenged myself to use a brown color palette discovered via tumblr. A fellow TopGearist, proposed a color palette based on a scene (click on the photo to visit their blog):

Top Gear Color Palette

Top Gear Color Palette

At the NYC Whole Bead Show, I found several perfect beads/focals that fit. Leaning toward a bracelet. Also found some great ideas for another TG palette, based on the Burma/Myannamar special. Once it’s complete you will see it here first!

 

Leave a Reply

